top of page

Flashback: Liz


Shoulder pads became a big trend in the 1980s and gave the illusion that the person wearing an item with padding had broader and wider shoulders.

The trend was incorporated into outfits by both men and women, and although many items were made with shoulder pads in, people were able to buy them separately to sew them into items that they wanted to achieve a broader look with.

Although shoulder pads had originally been around in the 40s, they reappeared. During the 80s even the Prime Minister, Margaret Thatcher was seen sporting the look.

Many celebrities and TV stars also favoured the broad shoulder look and the bigger the shoulder pads, the better. In fact, as time went on, people were starting to add more than one pair of pads to their clothing items.

Liz, who is pictured above on the left loved anything with shoulder pads, she said:

"Shoulder pads had to be one of my favourite trends when I think back through the years. Not only was it the in thing, they also made me feel incredibly confident.

"When I went out with my friends we would always make sure we padded out the shoulders of what we were wearing. Sometimes we would make it a competition to see who could fit the most pairs in their jacket.

"My favourite item with shoulder pads is the blazer that I'm wearing in this picture. This wasn't too over the top so I could get away with it on a day to day basis and I wore it to death - I definitely got my moneys worth out of it.

"I've still got it somewhere, I think. I think I might have to see if I can find it and dig it out."

Although not many items feature this these days, popping into a vintage store will provide you with plenty of items surrounding this trend. Failing that, you could re-vamp some of your own items by buying them from places like Amazon and then fit them yourself - a great way to merge old with new.


FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page