top of page

Flashback: Martin


Pictured above is Martin in the mid 90s wearing his "trusty" light wash jeans that he bought from C&A (a clothing store that was around during that decade) in Hull.

He recalls buying them because that's what everyone was wearing at the time. He used to wear them with a pt-shirt tucked into them, but now, these very jeans belong to his son, Jamie.

"Back when I was younger, I don't really think boys cared as much about how they looked as they do now," he said.

"We liked to look good when we went out but other than that we weren't fussy - at least I wasn't anyway, but my son is very different he's always buying new stuff to keep up with what everyone else is wearing.

"It wasn't too long ago that he'd ordered some vintage jeans online and asked my opinion on them. They were identical to the ones that I used to wear apart from the Levi branding and a hefty price tag for the vintage label.

"I rummaged through a wardrobe in the spare room in our house where me and his mother have stashed away old clothes and photos and I found them folded up at the very back.

"I took them downstairs and told Jamie to try them on, I mean I can't wear them any more as I've drank one too many beers in my time and I don't think I'd ever get back into them, but they fit him just like the ones he'd bought.

"I told him to send them back and roll my old ones up as you'd never know the difference. Isn't it weird how things come back around in fashion yet kid's these days think mum and dad were never cool despite them wearing everything we used to?"

As they say, style never goes out of fashion, and this just goes to prove it. Having a little rummage around for clothes that were owned by parents or grandparents could save you some money and keep you on trend!


FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page